Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2611

Former Minister Rohitha Abegunawardana sacked from the SLFP Central working Committee

Colombo, 17 April, (

Former Minister Rohitha Abegunawardana has been sacked from the SLFP Cenral Committee.

Former Minister Abeygunawardana stated that he has received the relevant letter.

Abeygunawardena joins the ranks of four other ex-ministers removed from the party’s decision-making body just last week.

On April 11, former Ministers Bandula Gunawardena, SM Chandrasena, TB Ekanayake and Salinda Dissanayake were notified in writing that they have been sacked from the central committee.

The six Parliamentarians in question were vociferous opponents of the SLFP hierarchy’s decision to accept Ministerial portfolios and form a National Government with the United National Party (UNP).

They have also openly supported the move, by certain coalition partners of the UPFA, to appoint Mahajana Eksath Peramuna leader Dinesh Gunawardena as the Opposition Leader, replacing Nimal Siripala de Silva.

Incidentally the six MPs have also recently campaigned for naming of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa as the prime ministerial candidate of the party.

It was reported on Monday that the SLFP has appointed five new members to the party’s Central Committee, replacing the sacked senior members.

The names of Hirunika Premachandra, Prasanna Solangaarachchi, Ediriweera Weerawardena, Arjuna Ranatunga and Nandimithra Ekanayake were mentioned in the report.

- Asian Tribune -

Rohitha Abegunawardana
diconary view
Share this