Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 110

Ceylon Hotel School Graduation Ceremony

By Quintus Perera - Asian Tribune

Colombo, 07 April, ( At the Graduation ceremony of the Sri Lanka Institute of Tourism and Hotel Management (Ceylon Hotel School) Milinda Moragoda, Minister of Tourism said that security is challenging for tourism yet it is also important internationally and commenting on the recent attack on the Bandaranaike International Airport the Minister said that they are not discouraged by short-term and long-term problems that comes in its way but tries to fact those and progress proactively.

The Graduation Ceremony was held at the BMICH and the Most Outstanding Graduate for the Year 2006 was won by D M I B Dissanayake.

Minister Moragoda said that security assurance given to foreigners were some of the objectives that they should achieve and therefore decided to appoint an advisory committee which would work towards bringing up the objectives to act on.

Hotel School Principal Kamal Hapuwatte speaking said that creating a new tradition they have invited two of their most senior graduates who have excelled in their careers as their Chef Guest and the Guest of Honor at this Graduation Ceremony. They were from the very first batch of trainees who joined the then Ceylon HOtel School & School of Tourism in 1966.

He said that both have made valuable contributions to the development of the hospitality trae in Sri Lanka and in Abroad. Mahinda Ratnayake recently retired as a Director of Aitken Spence Hotel Management Holdings Ltd Felix Bartholomeusz, retired recently as a senior lecturer of the Bendigo Regional Institute of TAFE in Australia and contributed immensely as an academic throughout his career.

Eighty Six Management Diploma Holders including 78 graduates passed out at this graduation ceremony. Out of them the honors were bestowed to the following for their excellent performances:

Management Diploma (Front Office) – Distinction – D J D D Siriwardena and Ms D A K Y Amarasekera. Distinction in Professional Cookery – A A B De Silva, D P Wijesuriya, K R Gunawardena and G D D Nishantha. Distinction in Food and Beverages – D M I B Dissanayake, MS S L Liyanage, R P Kumarage and S K Chandra. Food & Beverages (Four Year Diploma) First Class – D M I B Dissanayake, Ms S L Liyanage and N K H W Meepawala. House Keeping – First Class – Ms W M T Damayanthi. Front Office – First Class: MS D A K Y Amarasekera and Ms N S Hassim. Professional Cookery – First Class: A A B De Silva.

The following were adjudged as Outstanding Students in various categories: Ms W M T Damayanthi, D J D D Siriwardena, D M I B Dissanayake, D P Dissanayake, D P Wijesuriya, A A B De Silva, H M C J Dissanayake, H M C J Wimalarathna, I W S K Induruwa, K R GunawardenaN G U De Silva, Ms S L Iiyanage.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this